OPEN LETTER: Flatten the curve

OPEN LETTER: Flatten the curve

To the environmental, economic, social and financial spokespersons of all parties, there is a second curve to flatten!

“flatten the curve” – We hear it every day when we turn on the news: Every day there are more corona infected people, in Austria we have 1.046 available intensive care beds, our health system has its limits and we have to try not to overload these capacities! We must therefore do everything we can to smooth the curve, and that is to save human lives.

What is true for our health system is also true for our planet. The capacity limit here is the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. To have a good chance of limiting global warming to less than 1.5°, the concentration of GHGs in the atmosphere must not exceed 467 ppm and must be reduced to below 411 ppm by the end of the century. To achieve this, net emissions must be reduced to zero worldwide by 2050 at the latest. It is high time to turn all sorts of screws in order to work together and in solidarity to ensure that earth fever does not rise by more than 1.5°.

therefore: there is a second curve to flatten!

The climate crisis also kills people every day. It is forcing more and more people to leave their homes, leaving people hungry and literally pulling the rug out from under some of us. The number of heat-related deaths has increased. And yet we are still not treating the climate crisis for what it is: a crisis! The facts have been known for a long time, now action must finally follow!

  • Because we have long seen how our biodiversity, which is irreplaceable for the production of new, life-saving medicines, is being lost
  • because we have long heard how extreme heat waves and droughts lead to failed harvests and the death of many people,
  • because we have long felt our summers getting hotter and hotter
  • and because we have long known that we must act urgently, we demand #FightEveryCrisis

Rapid structural measures are needed to flatten the curve of climate escalation. The following five demands lay the foundation for achieving a permanent reduction in emissions in Austria and at the same time becoming more resilient to the consequences of climate change that are no longer unavoidable:

BUT THIS CURVE MATTERS TOO! Check out the full text down below.

1. emergency aid measures for people!

Together with Stay Grounded and more than 300 organizations we demand #SavePeopleNotPlanes: No billion dollar aid for the aviation industry! The people affected by the crisis need support, not the aviation industry. It must not get away with privatising its profits in good times and not paying taxes on kerosene to make society pay for its losses in bad times.

The full text of the petition is available at: https://stay-grounded.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/SG_Petition_GER.pdf

The same also applies to all other companies based in Austria that are fuelling the climate crisis with above-average emissions: no state crisis aid without a commitment to the 1.5 degree target and a strategy to achieve it in concrete terms! #SavePeopleNotPolluters

2. economic stimulus programmes to stabilise the economy must not be emission-intensive!

No to state crisis aid for projects that have employment effects but are at the same time emission-intensive. Purchase stimulations such as car scrappage schemes will cause the climate escalation curve to continue to rise and must therefore be avoided under any circumstances! Not only do they make a mockery of all climate protection measures, but they are also counterproductive from a budgetary point of view, as Austria is threatened with heavy fines if it fails to achieve its climate targets.

3. economic stimulus packages must make the economy and society more resilient!

We can still move the capacity limit significantly upwards in the event of a climate crisis: Regenerative measures, especially in the field of land use and agriculture, can store more greenhouse gases instead of them ending up in the atmosphere.
Furthermore we can build infrastructures that satisfy needs in an affordable and sustainable way for everyone, in order to enable a good life without the pressure of consumption and growth. We demand for everyone who lives in Austria:
– Well-developed public transport systems and free train and public transport tickets
– Expansion of the cycling infrastructure
– Affordable, climate-friendly and energy-saving living
– Thermal renovation of buildings supported
– Free and extensive health, care and educational facilities within easy reach
– Renewable and affordable energy produced in a nature-friendly way
– Unconditionally guaranteed access to healthy, regional, organic food
– More local recreation areas, therefore less space for cars and more space for people
Resilience-enhancing tax cuts are also well suited as stimulus measures to promote progress towards climate neutrality in all sectors.

4. stick to all climate protection measures!

Not a single climate protection measure in force or planned before the outbreak of the crisis may be dropped or weakened due to the corona crisis. No environmental tax may be lowered. No climate-damaging tax exception may be extended. No speed limit may be increased. On the contrary, we demand a maximum speed of 100 km/h on all motorways. Furthermore, the investments in climate and environmental protection provided for in the government programme must not be reduced. The greening of the tax system from 2021 must be far more ambitious than planned.

5. budget consolidation after the Corona crisis must be socially just!

The consolidation of the state budget after the Corona crisis must neither undermine the stability in the areas such as health and the environment, nor be at the expense of the low-income earners. For this purpose, ecological measures in particular are ideal, as they reward environmentally friendly behaviour and are ecologically, economically and socially just. In order to manage the crisis in a socially just manner, primarily economic activities that do not contribute to the social welfare must be taxed, for example financial transactions. In an OECD comparison, there are hardly any countries in which assets are taxed as little as in Austria. Therefore, the very unequally distributed assets in Austria must be taxed more heavily!

there is a second curve to flatten!

We can all learn something from the corona crisis. It has shown us what social cohesion means and what we are capable of together!
The emergency brake, which has been pulled in many countries since Corona, already has effects on our planet. In Germany, for example, it is estimated that 30 to 100 million tons of CO2 could be saved compared to 2019. In China, for example, nitrogen dioxide pollution has been reduced by 30 percent in the short term. And we are receiving reports from many large cities about a significant improvement in air quality. All these positive effects came as a by-product of the treatment of the corona crisis and will not last if we do not continue to work for our environment.
If forced measures bring about changes so quickly, what are measures that we consciously take to save our planet capable of?
Just as we humans are the ones causing the climate crisis, we are the ones who can stop it!

We just have to want it. #LetsFlattenTheSecondCurve

CHECK THIS OUT!

You want to know what feedback we have received? Here you can find the exact answers of the spokesperson in German language. With the exception of the FPÖ, we have received a response from all parties.

Now we have to keep an eye on them! You want to make sure that the parties keep their promises? Send them an e-mail reminding them of what they said. #offenerbriefflashmob

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

OFFENER BRIEF: Flatten the curve

OFFENER BRIEF: Flatten the curve

An die Umwelt-, Wirtschafts-, Sozial- , und Finanzsprecher*innen aller Parteien,
there is a second curve to flatten!

„flatten the curve“ – Wir hören es jeden Tag, wenn wir die Nachrichten einschalten: Täglich gibt es mehr Corona-Infizierte, in Österreich haben wir 1.046 verfügbare Intensivbetten, unser Gesundheitssystem hat seine Grenzen und wir müssen versuchen, diese Kapazitäten nicht zu überlasten! Wir müssen also alles dafür tun, die Kurve zu glätten und zwar: um Menschenleben zu retten.

Was für unser Gesundheitssystem gilt, das gilt auch für unseren Planeten. Die Kapazitätsgrenze ist hierbei die Treibhausgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre. Um eine gute Chance zu haben, die Erderwärmung auf unter 1,5° zu beschränken, darf die THG-Konzentration in der Atmosphäre 467 ppm nicht überschreiten und muss bis Ende des Jahrhunderts auf unter 411 ppm gesenkt werden. Dazu müssen die Nettoemissionen bis spätestens 2050 weltweit auf null gesenkt werden. Es ist höchste Zeit, an allen möglichen Schrauben zu drehen, um gemeinsam und solidarisch dafür zu sorgen, das Erd-Fieber nicht um über 1,5° steigen zu lassen.

deshalb: there is a second curve to flatten!

Auch die Klimakrise tötet täglich Menschen. Immer mehr Menschen zwingt sie dazu ihre Heimat zu verlassen, sie lässt Menschen hungern und zieht einigen von uns buchstäblich den Boden unter den Füßen weg. Die Zahl der Hitzetoten ist gestiegen. Und trotzdem behandeln wir die Klimakrise noch immer nicht als das was sie ist: eine Krise! Die Fakten sind schon längst bekannt, jetzt müssen endlich Taten folgen!

  • Weil wir schon lange sehen, wie unsere Biodiversität, die für die Herstellung neuer, lebensrettender Medikamente unersetzlich ist, verloren geht
  • weil wir schon lange hören, wie extreme Hitzewellen und Dürren zu ausgefallenen Ernten und dem Tod vieler Menschen führen,
  • weil wir schon lange spüren, wie unsere Sommer immer heißer werden
  • und weil wir schon lange wissen, dass wir dringend handeln müssen, fordern wir:

#FightEveryCrisis

Um die Kurve der Klima-Eskalation abzuflachen, braucht es rasche strukturelle Maßnahmen. Die folgenden fünf Forderungen legen einen Grundstein, um in Österreich eine dauerhafte Emissionsreduktion zu erreichen und zugleich resilienter für die nicht mehr unabwendbaren Folgen des Klimawandels zu werden:

DIESE KURVE IST AUCH WICHTIG! Den vollständigen Petitionstext findet ihr weiter unten .

1. Soforthilfemaßnahmen für Menschen!

Gemeinsam mit Stay Grounded und über 300 Organisationen fordern wir #SavePeopleNotPlanes: Keine Milliardenhilfen für die Flugindustrie! Die von der Krise betroffenen Menschen brauchen Unterstützung, nicht die Luftfahrtindustrie. Sie darf nicht damit davon kommen, in guten Zeiten ihre Gewinne zu privatisieren und keine Steuern für Kerosin zu zahlen, um in schlechten Zeiten die Gesellschaft für ihre Verluste aufkommen zu lassen.

Der gesamte Petitionstext unter: https://stay-grounded.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/SG_Petition_GER.pdf

Dasselbe gilt auch für alle weiteren in Österreich ansässigen Unternehmen, die mit einem überdurchschnittlich hohen Emissionsausstoß die Klimakrise anheizen: Keine staatliche Krisenhilfe ohne Bekenntnis zum 1,5 Grad Ziel und einer Strategie dieses auch konkret zu erreichen! #SavePeopleNotPolluters

2. Konjunkturprogramme zur Stabilisierung der Wirtschaft dürfen nicht emissionsintensiv sein!

Nein zu staatlichen Krisenhilfen für Projekte, die zwar Beschäftigungseffekte haben, gleichzeitig aber emissionsintensiv sind. Kauf-Stimulationen wie Abwrackprämien für Autos lassen die Kurve der Klimaeskalation weiter in die Höhe schnellen und dürfen daher auf keinen Fall erfolgen! Sie führen nicht nur alle Klimaschutzmaßnahmen ad absurdum sondern sind auch budgetär kontraproduktiv, da Österreich bei Nichterreichen der Klimaziele hohe Strafzahlungen drohen.

3. Konjunkturprogramme müssen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft widerstandsfähiger machen!

Noch können wir die Kapazitätsgrenze im Falle der Klimakrise deutlich nach oben verschieben: Durch regenerative Maßnahmen, vor allem im Bereich der Landnutzung und Landwirtschaft können mehr Treibhausgase gespeichert werden, anstatt in der Atmosphäre zu landen.
Gesellschaftlich können wir Infrastrukturen aufbauen, die für alle leistbar und nachhaltig Bedürfnisse befriedigen, um ein gutes Leben abseits von Konsum- und Wachstumszwang zu ermöglichen. Wir fordern für alle in Österreich Lebenden:
• Gut ausgebaute öffentliche Verkehrsmittel sowie kostenlose Bahn- und Nahverkehrstickets
• Ausbau der Rad-Infrastruktur
• Leistbares, klimafreundliches und energiesparendes Wohnen
• Thermische Sanierung von Gebäuden unterstützten
• Kostenlose und umfangreiche Gesundheits-, Pflege- und Bildungseinrichtungen in unmittelbarer Reichweite
• Naturverträglich erzeugte erneuerbare und leistbare Energie
• Bedingungslos gesicherten Zugang zu gesundem, regionalem, biologischem Essen
• Mehr Naherholungsgebiete, daher weniger Platz für Autos und mehr Platz für Menschen
Als Konjunkturmaßnahmen gut geeignet sind auch resilienzfördernde Steuerentlastungen, um Fortschritte in allen Branchen in Richtung Klimaneutralität zu fördern.

4. An allen Klimaschutzmaßnahmen festhalten!

Keine einzige geltende, oder vor Ausbruch der Krise geplante, Klimamaßnahme darf aufgrund der Coronakrise fallengelassen oder abgeschwächt werden. Keine Umweltsteuer darf gesenkt werden. Keine klimaschädliche Steuerausnahme darf ausgeweitet werden. Kein Tempolimit darf erhöht werden. Im Gegenteil fordern wir eine Maximalgeschwindigkeit von 100km/h auf allen Autobahnen Außerdem dürfen die im Regierungsprogramm vorgesehenen Investitionen in den Klima- und Umweltschutz dürfen nicht verringert werden. Die Ökologisierung des Steuersystems ab 2021 muss weit ambitionierter ausfallen als geplant.

5. Die Budgetkonsolidierung nach der Coronakrise muss sozial gerecht sein!

Eine Sanierung des Staatshaushaltes nach der Coronakrise, darf weder die Krisenfestigkeit in Bereichen wie der Gesundheit und Umwelt untergraben, noch auf Kosten der Geringverdienenden geschehen. Dafür sind gerade Ökologisierungsmaßnahmen ideal, indem sie umweltfreundliches Verhalten belohnen sowie ökologisch, wirtschaftlich und sozial gerecht gestaltet werden. Um die Krise sozial gerecht zu bewältigen, müssen primär wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten, die keinen Beitrag zum gesellschaftlichen Wohl leisten, besteuert werden, so zum Beispiel Finanztransaktionen. Im OECD-Vergleich gibt es kaum Länder, in denen Vermögen so wenig besteuert wird wie in Österreich. Daher muss das sehr ungleich verteilte Vermögen in Österreich stärker besteuert werden!

there is a second curve to flatten!

Wir alle können einiges aus der Coronakrise lernen. Sie hat uns gezeigt, was gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt bedeutet und wozu wir gemeinsam im Stande sind!
Die Notfallbremse, die seit Corona, in vielen Ländern gezogen wurde, sorgt schon jetzt für Veränderungen auf unserem Planeten. Für Deutschland wird beispielsweise geschätzt, dass 30 bis 100 Millionen Tonnen CO2 verglichen zum Jahr 2019 eingespart werden könnten. In China etwa ging die Stickstoffdioxidbelastung kurzfristig um 30 Prozent zurück. Und aus vielen Großstädten erreichen uns Berichte über eine wesentliche Verbesserung der Luftqualität. All diese positiven Auswirkungen kamen als Beiprodukt der Behandlung der Coronakrise und werden, wenn wir uns nicht weiterhin für unsere Umwelt einsetzen, auch nicht von Dauer sein.

Wenn erzwungene Maßnahmen so schnell Veränderungen bewirken, wozu wären Maßnahmen, die wir bewusst setzen um unsere Erde zu retten erst fähig? Genauso wie wir Menschen diejenigen sind, die die Klimakrise verursachen, sind auch wir diejenigen die sie stoppen können!

Wir müssen es nur wollen.

#LetsFlattenTheSecondCurve

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This