RECAP: Change Days 2019!

RECAP: Change Days 2019!

At the Change Days we celebrate life!

Generation Earth member Valentin visited the Change Days in August. In this article he shares his experiences and thoughts with us.

From August 15th to 18th the WWF Change Days took place on the beautiful grounds of the Klingem├╝hle, not far from Berlin. The Change Days are an international meet-up as well as a camp for young people who want to get involved in the ecological crisis. They offer space not only for exchange and experience in the field of environmental protection, but also for friendships, laughter and nature experiences.

We need to change the system!

During the day there was a range of workshops. Among other things, they dealt with challenges related to right-wing extremism in nature conservation or the almost certain disappearance of the Arctic. Individual workshops even went deeper and analysed our current situation as the logical result of an economic system based on the exploitation of nature. The solution to this is, so to speak, a system change, away from the current growth and compulsion to make a profit, which is at the expense of all life on earth.

However, not only the contents of the workshops counted, but also everything “all around”. And this “all around” could not have been more relaxed. Waking up for four days from the singing of other people, taking a shower outdoors, swimming in the lake and still having the smell of the evening campfire in your hair while going to bed. What more does a person want?

We got to act now!

As a shadow side, I always feel very strongly at such meetings that talking about the climate crisis, nature conservation and environmental protection is something different than doing something real. Especially in such a protected environment. If we really want to change something, we have to devote more time to these topics than “just” four days a year. Many people already do, but far from enough.

 

WWF Youth Summit

More information

If you want to know more about the WWF Change Days, take a look here.

If you have any questions about the Change Days, please contact me. I’d be happy to help!

Meet the Author - Valentin

Generation Earth Member

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

RECAP: Change Days 2019!

RECAP: Change Days 2019!

Bei den Change Days feiern wir das Leben!

Generation Earth Mitglied Valentin hat im August die Change Days besucht. In diesem Beitrag teilt er seine Erfahrungen und Gedanken mit uns.

Vom 15. Bis 18. August fanden auf dem wunderschönen Gelände der Klingemühle, nicht weit von Berlin die WWF Change Days statt. Die Change Days sind ein internationales Meet-up sowie ein Camp für junge Menschen, die sich im Rahmen der Ökologischen Krise engagieren wollen. Sie bieten nicht nur Raum für Austausch und Erfahrung im Umweltschutzbereich, sondern auch für Freundschaften, Gelächter und Naturerfahrungen.

Wir müssen das System ändern!

Unter Tags gab es eine Bandbreite von Workshops. Sie behandelten unter anderem Herausforderungen rund um das Thema Rechtsextremismus im Naturschutz haben oder das fast schon sichere Verschwinden der Arktis. Einzelne Workshops gingen sogar tiefer und analysierten unseren Ist-Zustand als logisches Ergebnis eines Wirtschaftssystems, dass auf Ausbeutung von Mensch und Natur basiert. Die Lösung dazu sei sozusagen ein Systemwandel, weg von dem derzeitigen Wachstum und Profitzwang, der auf Kosten allen Lebens auf der Erde wirtschaftet.

Jedoch zählten nicht nur die Inhalte der Workshops, sondern auch alles „rundherum“. Und dieses „rundherum“ hätte nicht entspannter sein können. Vier Tage lang vom Singen anderer Menschen aufwachen, Duschen im Freien, Schwimmen im See und beim Schlafengehen noch den Geruch des abendlichen Lagerfeuers in den Haaren haben. Was will ein Mensch mehr?

Wir müssen jetzt handeln!

Als Schattenseite spüre ich bei solchen Treffen immer sehr stark, dass über die Klimakrise, Naturschutz und Umweltschutz zu reden etwas anderes ist, als real etwas zu tun. Vor allem in einem dermaßen geschützten Umfeld. Wenn wir wirklich etwas verändern wollen, müssen wir diesen Themen mehr Zeit als „nur‘“ vier Tage im Jahr widmen. Viele Menschen tun das schon, aber bei weitem noch nicht genug.

WWF Youth Summit

Weitere Informationen

Hier entlang wenn du mehr über die WWF Change Days erfahren möchtest.

Wenn du Fragen zu den Change Days hast, kontaktiere mich gerne! Ich freue mich von dir zu hören.

Meet the Author - Valentin

Generation Earth Mitglied

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This